This page contains everything you need to know about student fees. Whether you want to find out the fees for each term, get more information on how to pay, locate important payment deadlines, or learn how to receive a refund, please keep reading below.
Student Fees & Tuition
Community college enrollment fees are set by the California State Legislature. All
fees are subject to change. If you need Financial Aid, we recommend applying as soon as possible. To determine your overall cost of attendance,
use our customized net price calculator.
More info: Administrative Regulation 5030 – Fees
|Enrollment Fee* (California residents)||
$46 per unit
$46 per unit
|Non-California Resident Tuition*||$320 per unit ($282 + $38 Capital Outlay fee)||$320 per unit|
|Capital Outlay* (foreign nonresident students)||$38 per unit||$38 per unit|
|Credit by Examination Fee||$46 per unit||$46 per unit|
|Auditing Fee||$15 per unit||$15 per unit|
|Health Fee (See below for exemptions)||$19 each semester||$16 each term|
|Student Activities Fee (Optional)||$10||$10|
|Photo ID Card||Free||Free|
|Student Representation Fee (Optional)||$2||N/A|
|As noted in class schedule|
|Parking Fee||Free for students through June 30, 2024.|
|Child Care||Cost determined based on income|
|Transcript/Verification Fee||Free for first two copies. Additional fees below.|
|Degree/Certificate Replacement Fee||$20 per occurrence|
|College Catalog||$5 in bookstore / $7 by US mail|
- California Residents
California residents pay only $46 per unit for classes! The enrollment fee is state mandated. However, students concurrently enrolled in high school are not required to pay the enrollment fee. Also, California residents meeting certain criteria may be eligible for a California College Promise Grant or other financial aid. Contact the Financial Aid Office to learn more.
- Non-California Resident
Students who have lived in California less than a year (prior to the first day of the semester or intersession), and those who hold certain non-immigrant visas that preclude them from establishing California residency, must pay out-of-state tuition of $282 per unit plus a nonresident capital outlay fee of $38 per unit. For more information about residency and the AB 540 waiver, go to our Residency page.
- International Students – Capital Outlay Fee
Students who are both citizens and residents of a foreign country will be charged a Non-Resident Capital Outlay Fee of $38 per unit, in addition to the Non-California Resident Tuition and the Enrollment Fee. An additional Foreign Student Application Processing Fee of $50 and an F1 Visa Student Health Insurance fee of $697.50 per semester may be required.
- Health Fee
The health fee provides you with a variety of health care services. Students are required to pay a health fee, regardless of the units taken, unless they meet one of these exemptions:
- Any student who depends exclusively on prayer for healing in accordance with the teachings of a bonafide religious sect, denomination or organization. Documentary evidence of such an affiliation is required.
- Part-time, dual-enrolled high school students are not required to pay a health fee.
- Student Activities Fee
All students are charged the $10 Student Activities Fee when they register for fall and spring classes. Verification of payment will be done through the student’s financial account summary. Students may opt out of the Student Activities Fee within the first two weeks of the semester.
To opt-out, email the Office of Student Development at firstname.lastname@example.org. Students who opted out of the fee can pay the fee at any time during the semester.
Students who pay the Student Activities Fee are entitled to Associated Student Government (ASG) incentives, including a free meal daily at the Everytable cafeteria, free or discounted admission to ASG-sponsored events, and free entry to all athletic home events. Students who pay the Student Activities Fee are also eligible to receive exclusive ASG promotional items.
- Student Representation Fee
The Student Representation Fee is a $2 charge collected at the time of registration for each enrolled student for purposes of providing student governmental affairs representatives the means to state their positions and viewpoints before city, county, district, state and federal government as well as other public agencies. You may request to waive the fee at the Admissions & Records Office. The request must be submitted prior to the earliest refund deadline for enrolled classes.
- Instruction Materials/Lab Fees
Certain courses require a nominal fee for materials provided to students during the semester. Please refer to the Schedule of Classes for more information.
Current students may park for free at Compton College with a valid student parking permit. Students must complete an online application at paymycite.com/Compton/parkingpermit to receive their free 2023-2024 parking permit. For more about parking check out our Parking Information page.
If you do not have a student parking permit, daily permits are available for $3 each at automated stations located near the Administration and Math/Science buildings and parking lots A, F and H. Check out the Campus Maps and Directions for daily permit parking stations.
- Child Care
Students can enroll their infants, toddlers and preschool-aged children at the Abel B. Sykes Jr. Child Development Center to gain the time needed to focus on their own learning. Eligibility for full/part-time childcare is based on family income, family need and the parent's school/work schedule.
- Transcript/Verification & Degree Replacement Fee
Each student is entitled to two free transcripts. However, rush orders are not eligible as free transcripts. The cost for additional copies is $6 per transcript, plus shipping if a printed version is requested. Emergency requests can be made in-person only and cost $9 per transcript. There is no same-day processing available. If you need to request a duplicate of your degree or certificate, the cost is $20 per occurrence.
- Course Catalog
The College Catalog is the official publication of records regarding courses offered, degree and certificate program outlines, requirements, and additional policies and procedures for the campus. The most current catalog can be accessed online or you may purchase a printed copy at the Bookstore for $5.00 (available in-person only).
FEE PAYMENT METHODSWe offer three convenient ways to pay your student fees:
- Pay online! Log into MyCompton.
- Bring American Express, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, cash or checks to the Bursar’s Office (SSB -161).
- Mail a check or money order (US banks only) to Compton College; Bursar's Office; 1111 E. Artesia Blvd., Compton, CA 90221.
A service charge of $25 will be assessed on any returned check and can result in suspension from enrollment and other consequences.
If you would like a 1098-T Tuition Statement for tax purposes, click here.
If you have further questions about how to make a payment, please contact the Bursar's Office, located in SSB-161, or call 310-900-1600, Ext. 2105.
FEE PAYMENT DEADLINES
Enrollment and other fees are charged to the student at the time of enrollment. Students are required to pay fees within ten (10) days of their enrollment in courses. If additions are made to the course program after payment is made, students will be billed for the additional units. Students who overpay their fees will have those fees refunded or applied to a subsequent term of enrollment.
For more information, refer to AR 5030 - Fees.
If you are on a waitlist for a class, you will need to check your Compton College email daily to find out if you have been admitted. Waitlisted students admitted to a class must pay those class fees by the same deadlines, or they will be dropped from all classes at Compton College. For more information about our waitlist process please click here.
For questions about fee payment deadlines, call 310-900-1600, Ext. 2104.
FEE REFUNDSEnrollment Fee Refunds
In order to receive a refund, students must drop their classes online at MyCompton, according to the deadlines in the Academic Calendar. For classes that meet less than 16-weeks, consult the short-term calendar.
Refunds will be issued through BankMobile Disbursements, a technology solution, powered by BMTX, Inc. before the end of the semester. For more information about BankMobile Disbursements, and to select your refund preference, visit: bankmobiledisbursements.com/refundchoices.
If your address has changed, please update your address in MyCompton or submit a Change of Address Form via email to the Admissions & Records Office (email@example.com) using your @compton.edu email.
Refunds for less than $1.00 will not be mailed.
Health Fee Refunds
Health Fee Refunds are only granted when a student withdraws from all courses prior to the close of the second week of the term.
Nonresident Tuition Fee Refunds
Nonresident students will receive a full or partial refund for nonresident tuition if they drop their classes through MyCompton, according to the following schedule:
- During the second calendar week of the semester, 100% of the fee will be refunded.
- During the third calendar week of the semester, 75% of the fee will be refunded.
- During the fourth calendar week of the semester, 50% of the fee will be refunded.
- During the fifth week of the semester, 25% of the fee will be refunded.
For the specific dates of the current term or semester, please reference the class schedule.
Credit by Examination Fee and Auditing Fee
These fees are non-refundable.
There are no refunds for parking permits.